w e l c o m e

The Marshall Handmade Market is something special among holiday shows. This November 21, from 10:00 to 5:00, you can shop your heart out while enjoying a peek into the eclectic Marshall High Studios on Blannahassett Island, touring resident artist studios and taking in the work of local artists, designers and craftspeople handpicked by the artists of MHS.

The renovated high school from 1929 sits in the middle of the French Broad River and has attracted an interesting mix of creative people. For the past seven years MHS artists have come together to organize and present one of the most popular shows in the area. This year the exhibition showcases over 50 artists and fine craft artisans from Western North Carolina as well as gourmet food artisans, handmade soap and apothecary arts. The organizers take great pride in focusing attention on Madison County artists as well as emerging artists from the surrounding areas.

New this year will be performances by David Hughes and West of Roan, who have been making a splash all over Madison County and Asheville with their enchanting puppet shows and mountain music. Those who have experienced a puppet performance by West of Roan have described it as a magical experience they won’t soon forget.

In addition to the 35 invited artists we have 21 MHS resident artists and musicians taking part. Marshall High Studios (MHS) welcomes new additions to the studios, multidisciplinary artist Hunter Stabler, ceramic artist Julie Covington, who just joined us from the Phil Mechanic Studios in the River Arts district, and Asia Suler of One Willow Apothecaries.

To temp your taste buds we welcome back Smash Box Kitchen food truck as well as local bakers with handmade pies and breads, as well as several prepared gourmet food artisans with preserves, pickles and more.

g a l l e r y


e x h i b i t o r s

marshall high studios artists

Beth Cefalu, Studio 206, Painting and Drawing

Morgan Santander, Studio 203, Painting and Drawing  morgansantander.com

Hunter Stabler, Studio 110, Multimedia  hunterstabler.com

Francesco Lombardo, Studio 110, Painter  francescolombardo.com

Garius Hill, Studio 100, Musician

Greg Olson, Studio 100, Musician

David Hughes, Sudio 213, Old American Music  oldamericanmusic@gmail.com

Ken McLeskey, Studio 101, Painter  kenmcleskey.com

Julie Covington, Studio 103, Covington Pottery  covingtonpottery.com

Asia Suler, Studio 107, One Willow Apothecaries  onewillowapothecaries.com

Maggie King, Studio 109, Ceramics

Scot King, Studio 109, Leather Design

Rob Pulleyn, Studio 105, Sculpture

Roberta Allen, Studio 202, Printmaking and Mixed Media  rallenart.com

Esther Moriarty, Studio 209, Weaving and Fiber Arts

Miranda Heidler, Studio 209, Weaving and Fiber Arts  etsy.com/shop/wildbergamotcraft

Charity Cimeron, Studio 209, Weaving and Fiber Arts etsy.com/shop/thelongredthread

Amber Jensen, Studio 106, Designer  sketchbookcrafts.com

Duane Gibson, Studio 204, Massage Therapist

Annie Schermer and Channing Showalter, Studio 210, West of Roan ~ Puppetry and Music


invited artists

Krista Allison, Canoo Plush Toys  canoo.etsy.com

Jess Ames, Photography  instagram.com/jessamyames

Linda Azar, Metalsmith  lindaazarmetalsmith.com

Victoria Baker, Still Water Deep, Jewelry

Annie Fain Barralon, Painting and Book Arts  afainbooks.com

Anja Bartels, Ceramics, Porcelain  anjapottery.com

Patti Byrd, Leather Craft

Elizabeth Carrington  elizabethcarringtonart.com

Daphne Cohan, The High Fiber Co., Screen Printed Textiles  thehighfiber.etsy.com

Frank Dapkus, Hand Turned Wood Vessels  autumnwoodturner@gmail.com

Nancy Darrell, Woodcut Prints  nancydarrell.net

Katherine Goodson, Dream Silks by Kathy Goodson  kathygoodson.com

Margaret Goodson, Jewelry  gritgoods.etsy.com

Katherine Graham, Katherine Graham Raku  katherinegrahamraku.com

Candice Hensley, Ceramics  candice.hensley@gmail.com

Deb Karash, Jewelry  debkarash.wordpress.com

Brendan Lafferty, Handmade Benches

John Lara and David Trophia Designs, Jewelers/Metalsmiths

Lisa Mandle, Upcycled Clothing Designs  lisamandlestudio.com

Margaret McGinnis, Fork Mountain Handworks, Weaving and Fiber Arts

Barbara McGuire, Encaustic Painting and Jewelry  barbaramcguire.com

Julie Merrill, JL Merrill Metalworks  jlmerrillmetalworks.com

Brooke Metheny, Indigo Brown, Leather Design

Connie Molland, Rose Hollow Connections, Woodworker  rosehollowconnections.com

Josie Mosser, Illustration  abacuscorvus.com

Kristen Necessary, Starfangled Press, Print Making  starfangledpress.com

Sarah Owens, Handmade Dolls

Pegi Pike, Jeweler  etsy.com/shop/pegipikejewelry

Ali Reznikoff, The Silversmith Jewelry  thesilversmithjewelry.com

Luba Sharapan, Darn Pottery, Illustrated Ceramics  darnpottery.com

Melissa Weiss, Ceramics  melissaweisspottery.com

Cre and Brian Willis, Seven Feathers, Wearable Art

Mountain Man Preserves, Jams and Preserves

Wendy Stancil, Rising Flour Bakery

Green River Picklers  grpicklers.com

Ramble and Root  rambleandroot.org/

Tara Jensen, Smoke Signals, Hand Crafted Pies and Breads  smokesignalsbaking.com

Leslie Stillwell, Handmade Soap, Aromatherapy

Katie Vie, River Island Apothecary, Aromatherapy  katievie.com

Buchi Kombucha drinkbuchi.com

Pot Pie facebook.com/pot-pie


l o c a t i o n

Enter your starting address:


c o n t a c t

For more information, email questions@marshallhandmade.com